Would You Attend a Bootcamp to Get Online?

Lately I have been considering developing a one-day (or perhaps half-day) “boot camp” for people who are interested in getting their online lives set up. This would be a session for people who have no online presence, or who have one but aren’t happy with it.

My Mode of Transport by Flickr user Jim Legans, Jr.
"My Mode of Transport" by Flickr user Jim Legans, Jr.

At the end of the day, participants would have a fully set-up and tweaked set of online “identities” and would have a clear sense of how to go about using these tools.

You could walk in with nothing, and walk out with a complete online presence.

(Or, you could walk in with an online presence, and walk out with a cohesive strategy and set-up.)

So far, I’ve been thinking that this is what would go into it:

  • OMG I’m Lost: What matters, what doesn’t
  • Get Ready: Planning out your system
  • Your Assets: Preparing materials for your online identity
  • Core Work: Your blog
  • The Big Two: Facebook and Twitter
  • Don’t Stop Yet: Other social media identities
  • The System: Connecting everything up
  • The Back End: Monitoring and maintenance
  • Now What? Daily workflow and strategy

My question: Is this something you would be interested in? What value would it have for you? Let me know in the comments!

Why am I asking this? It’s exactly the kind of thing people ask me about more and more. As it becomes clear to people that they need to have a serious online presence, they feel a sense of urgency. The early adopters have already acted, but now the rest of the world knows they need to jump in!

I do know a little bit about this — especially when it comes to personal branding and online presence, but also when it comes to nonprofit organizations. I’ve been blogging since before the word was coined. I’ve initiated and been architect of a number of online and interactive products such as Everyday Democracy’s Issue Guide Exchange, the launch the Institute for Global Ethics’ renowned Ethics Newsline newsletter (we called it Business Ethics Newsline back then), Rockville Central (a hyperlocal news source and top five local blog in Maryland), and more.

Bottom line: I’ve been at this for a long time and I’ve got a lot of lessons. I would love to share what I’ve learned with folks.

Are you interested? If there is enough interest, I’ll think about setting it up!

Leave a Reply

